State Dept Bars 16 Saudis From Entering US Over Khashoggi Murder

Newly banned Saudis are suspected members of kill team

The US State Department has issued a statement this week announcing that 16 Saudi nations are to be barred from future entry into the United States over their roles in the murder of journalist Jamal Khashoggi.

Khashoggi, a journalist and a permanent resident of the US, was murdered in October at the Saudi Consulate in Istanbul, Turkey, by a Saudi Arabian “kill team.” The kill team is believed to have been among those banned from entry in this new move.

This is the second time the US has made diplomatic moves against the Saudis over the murder, revoking a number of visas and freezing the assets of several people. The Saudis have at times denied murder Khashoggi, but have also offered differing versions of events involving the kill team showing up, something happening, and Khashoggi dying, only for his body to go missing.

The State Department’s latest move comes amid growing Congressional pushes for the administration to hold the Saudis accountable for the killing. Though it is generally accepted internationally that the Saudi crown prince ordered the murder, President Trump has rejected that idea, citing concern of lost arms deals.

Author: Jason Ditz

Jason Ditz is news editor of