House Approves Bill Banning Russian Oil as Americans Face Soaring Gas Prices

Only 17 House members voted against the legislation

On Wednesday night, the House approved a bill that would ban the import of Russian oil, natural gas, and coal.

The bill would reinforce the executive order signed by President Biden this week banning Russian energy imports. The legislation also calls for a review of Russia’s status at the World Trade Organization and encourages more sanctions on Russia.

Despite the soaring gas prices in the US, the bill was overwhelmingly approved in a vote of 414-17. Only two Democrats voted against the legislation, Reps. Ilhan Omar (MN) and Cori Bush (MO).

The Republicans that voted against the bill are Reps. Thomas Massie (KY), Matt Gaetz (FL), Marjorie Taylor Greene (GA), Andy Biggs (AZ), Louie Gohmert (TX), Dan Bishop (NC) Glenn Grothman (WI), Lauren Boebert (CO), Tom Tiffany (WI), Paul Gosar (AZ), Clay Higgins (LA), Scott DesJarlais (TN), Madison Cawthorn (NC), Bill Posey (FL), and Chip Roy (TX).

The vote is viewed as largely symbolic since Biden already signed his executive order, and according to Politico, the Senate is not expected to consider the House version of the bill. But the vote demonstrates the bipartisan unity in trying to isolate the Russian economy in the wake of Russia’s attack on Ukraine regardless of the cost to Americans.

Author: Dave DeCamp

Dave DeCamp is the news editor of, follow him on Twitter @decampdave.